Skip navigation

I try not to post angry.  I have few enough readers as it is without alienating them with my rants and raves.  But, sometimes something just needs to be said.  I will try to keep this post brief so as not to expose the two or three readers to too much of my venting.

One of my biggest workplace pet peeves is people who go behind my back.

If you have a problem with me, tell me to my face.  We are all supposed to be not only adults but professionals.  We should handle issues in a way that reflects that.  I am not someone who needs everyone to like me.  But, I do expect that you extend me a certain level of professional courtesy and respect until I have done something to lose that respect.  And, if you feel I have done something, then tell me.  I would rather you get in my face so we can at least air our grievances.

If you don’t have the courage to confront me directly, keep it to yourself.

I don’t want to hear from my co-workers or my boss that you have an issue.  That’s junior-high level.  All you do by going behind my back is poison our professional relationship, make the workplace that much more stressful, and make it difficult, if not impossible, to work with you.  If I know you are going behind y back instead of confronting me directly, how can I trust you at all.  If I can’t trust you, how can I work with you effectively.

I am so sick of this pettiness.  Give it a rest.  Take it up with me, or just shut the hell up.

One Comment

  1. I hear you on that one. I suffer with the same things at work as I know my wife does. I wish every one would act as professional as they expect me to.


Leave a Reply

