Skip navigation

Hello, again, everyone!

I apologize for the lack of posts last week.  My wife and I were on vacation, and I don’t like to announce times I am going to be out-of-town over the internet.  I know, I sound paranoid as hell, but you can’t be too careful these days.

We took a cruise up into New England and Canada.  This time of year the region is actually very beautiful, although the colors weren’t as brilliant as we hoped.  The trip was, overall, a good one.  We got to see some different places and experience some new things.  If nothing else, it was nice just to get away from everything and be able to just be us for a while.

 

However, I did discover something rather disturbing during our cruise.  The northeastern United States and eastern Canada were absolute fire zones from the mid 19th century to the mid 20th century.  It was incredible!  Every port we stopped in had a tale of fiery devastation in its past.  It was moderately disturbing, especially considering the fact that many of these ports were playgrounds for the rich and famous in their heydays!

Don’t believe me?  Think I’m exaggerating?  Then check this out:

Now, by my count that is four of five ports (the only exception being Newport, RI) that had major fires between 1872 and 1947.  That, in and of itself, would be impressive.  But, the fact that a five port cruise itinerary hit all four seems like some kind of disturbing confluence of fate.  You have to wonder if there is some sort of meaning there.

(In a bizarre twist of irony, we encountered some people from a Carnival cruise in Halifax.  They told us that their ship had no heat.  Not that it was broken or not working, it was not one of the amenities of this particular vessel.  Who sends a ship with no heat into New England and Canada in October? I bet they closed their eyes and smiled from the imagined warmth when they heard about those fires.)

The cruise did teach me one thing, though.  My business plan is all wrong.  I need to invent time travel and take fire prevention, protection, and fighting gear back to those days. 

I could make a killing!

Leave a Reply

