Skip navigation

As I’ve mentioned before on the Jungle Gym, I am an avid reader.  I consume books of nearly every type, fiction or non-fiction.  Books have been lifelong friends and companions to me all the way back to my childhood.  I’ve also mentioned my proud membership in the Nation of Geeks.  We are a proud people, and not to be trifled with.  My membership here even extends to joining my friends in fairly regular sessions of tabletop roleplaying.  If you’ve never experienced it, don’t knock it.

What these two activities has led me to become is an amateur writer with dreams of publication someday.  And, one thing I have learned with my forays into writing, whether with my early attempts in my youth or my more serious attempts at the craft that I am currently molding, is that no matter what your subject matter or setting is, you are building a world with your prose.

creation

Now, others may argue this point.  They will claim that writers who write in real world settings and the like are not actually world building, but I disagree.  The second you take a turn down a fictional path, whether it be creative license or the crafting of a fictional story in a non-fictional setting, you change the rules from reality.  Now the world you are writing about is different, the actions of its inhabitants will be different.  They may end up in a “historically accurate place,” but you have created a world different from our own by its very nature.

The interesting thing about this, is that if one takes it seriously the craft of sculpting a world, no matter how similar or dissimilar to our own, becomes an intriguing act of creation.  You begin to consider the smallest of consequences to every action, and the “butterfly effect” of chaos theory begins to roll in waves through the place you have crafted.

Yes, the place is fictional, but somehow that makes it even more interesting.  The world begins to take on a certain life of its own as it swirls in your imagination.  But, the really fascinating part is when that world is shared with someone else.  Watching their reactions, listening to their interpretations, feeding on their imaginative energies the writer can take the comments and observations of another and see his world through another lens.  A new look at a place whose every nuance was crafted by your mind allows for the final refinement of the place.

The experience is truly a wondrous one.  It allows us to connect on a level that people rarely seek out connection, imagination.  It is too bad so many people leave their imaginations behind as they grow out of childhood, for it is one of the many fibers that defines the human experience.

I hope my readers, no matter how many or few, latch onto those flights of fancy and soar through the skies of foreign worlds built by the imaginations of other souls who never lost that spark of humanity.

Read. Write. Create. Live. Nothing is more precious than our ability to look out through the window  of our mind’s eye and see things that stir our imaginative forces.  For it is with these imaginative forces that we will truly find the answers to the questions of our hearts and minds.

For anyone who has ever been to EPCOT Center in Florida, I say this.  I want to be like Figment!

One Comment

  1. Nice post! I remember dressing as Figment for Halloween one year. Mom made me the best costume, and I wore the Figment hat I got at Epcot!


Leave a Reply

