Skip navigation

Last night my wife and I attended a talk given by Vince Papale.  If you’re unfamiliar with Vince, he was a 30-year old season ticket holder who never played college football who through an unprecendented series of opportunities managed to make the team with the Philadelphia Eagles and play three years as a special teamer.  His story was chronicled in the Disney film “Invincible” starring Mark Wahlberg.

Now, Vince still seems a little enamored with the fact that someone thought his story was worth making a movie about.  But, in between the talk about “Invincible” he did have a few things to say that really got me thinking a lot about my life. 

In particular, Vince made the point that all of us have people who have believed in us and helped us along when we needed it most.  He stressed the importance of being aware of the importance of such people in our lives and making sure we let them know how important they truly are to us because you never know when the chance to say such things will no longer be there.  I have been reflecting on that since last evening, and I wanted to be sure that I am doing just that.  So, if you are a new reader here or hate this sort of thing, but today’s post is going to be some thank yos to the people who have been there for me over the tears.

First and foremost, is my wife.  Without her help and support over the years I don’t know that I would have weathered the storms that life threw my way.  She has been my solid foundation and my biggest cheerleader when even I didn’t believe I could make it.  I hope that I return that support, but I can never fully repay you for everything you have been for me.

Secondly, I want to say thanks to my family.  Things are rocky right now, and I know where the blame for that lies.  But, I know in my heart that everything that is good in me is because of you.  Todd, you and I have been at odds many times over the years, but despite all of it you have been my brother and I thank you for that.  Vicki, your uncontained enthusiasm for life and loving spirit have been a light for me in dark places more than you will ever know.  Dad, you and mom made me who I am.  All that is right with me is because you instilled it in me, all that is wrong is my straying from the principles you gifted to me.  I can never make amends completely, but know that I love you and always have.

Finally, to my good friends.  I have been gifted with two groups of wonderful friends.  To Kelby, Meg, John, Maria, Ken, and Holly: thank you for giving me a place where I can experience acceptance that is so hard to find in this world, a safe place where I can be myself without any masquerade.  To Chris, Joanne, Dennis, Bekki, Eric, Ben, and Nicole: thanks for making me feel like I am part of something larger than myself.  Our group is a family as much as friends, we even have our dysfunctions.  But through it all, we all know we can depend on one another.

Thank you to all of you for being part of what makes my world a good place.  With such good family and friends at my side, I know that there is nothing that can come that I can overcome.

Leave a Reply

