Skip navigation

Hello everyone and an early Happy Halloween!

I have to admit I am actually shocked.  A Halloween weekend and the only thing Hollywood has coming is a re-release of the “Halloween II” remake from August.  If you want my thoughts on that one click here for that week’s MovieDruid.

 Wednesday saw the release of the Michael Jackson concert/documentary film “This Is It,” but as has been the policy of the MovieDruid from he beginning I am not going to touch on concert films.  My position has always been if you like the artist and the concert film is something you enjoy, I am not going to persuade you to stay away and if the artist is not your cup of tea or you hate concert films I am not going to convince you to go.

I must express a certain amount of disappointment this week, however.  A film I have been much anticipating “Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day,” is only being given limited release.  If you are in an area that happens to have the film available I would give it a go.  The original “Boondock Saints” would be on my personal top ten list easily.

So, if you’re itching for a flick this weekend, I would recommend checking out on of my previous picks, or grabbing a classic horror flick and curling up with it and some popcorn.  Since there are no national releases this week, I’ll throw out three films that have good Halloween memories for me.  Enjoy!

“Fright Night”

Trailer

Synopsis: Classic Vampire film about a teenager who learns that his next door neighbor is a vampire, and no one will believe him.

MovieDruid’s Comments: I remember sitting with my friends watching this on Halloween years ago.  It is more than a little campy, and definitely has the ’80’s stamped all over it, but it is a fun ride if you enjoy vampire flicks.  And, besides where can you see Chris Sarandon, the future Prince Humperdinck (“The Princess Bride”) and voice of Jack Skellington (“The Nightmare Before Christmas”), as a vampire being hunted by Roddy “Planet of the Apes” McDowall.  In my opinion, one of the best of the campy horror films of the ’80’s.

“Spellbound”

Trailer

Synopsis: Dr. Constance Petersen is a psychiatrist with a firm understanding of human nature-or so she thinks. When the mysterious Dr. Anthony Edwards becomes the new chief of staff at her institution, the bookish and detached Constance plummets into a whirlwind of tangled identities and feverish psychoanalysis, where the greatest risk is to fall in love.

MovieDruid’s Comments: I saw this film for the first time with a group of friends who were, like myself at the time, just beginning to discover the joy of old black-and-whites.  I had already fallen in love with “Casablanca” and “To Kill A Mockingbird,” so when someone suggested a Hitchcock film with Ingrid Bergman and Gregory Peck for Halloween, it was hard to pass up.  Critics generally consider this to be one of Hitchcock’s weakest, and even the director brushed the film off in later years.  However, the performances are fantastic, the score won an Academy Award, and the film is worth a viewing just for the bizarre dream sequence designed by surrealist painter, Salvador Dali.  Personally, I think it is a solid Hitchcockian thriller.

“Frailty”

Trailer

Synopsis: Years after terrorizing a small Texas community, the God’s Hand Killer has returned, leaving in his wake a perplexing trail of fear and death. Convinced that he knows the killers identity, Fenton Meiks shows up at FBI headquarters intent on putting an end to the murderous rampage and relieving his conscience.

MovieDruid’s Comments: One of the most interesting, and understated horror films I have ever seen.  A finely crafted film with incredibly nuanced performances from its entire cast, “Frailty” is a nightmare of building menace.  If you haven’t had a chance to see this one, I highly recommend it.  As an interesting aside, this was also Bill Paxton’s directorial debut.

Leave a Reply

