Skip navigation

As I was waxing philosophical a bit this morning I remembered back to when I was a kid and was told by a CCD (Sunday school for you non-Catholics) instructor that I was wrong when I thought I would have my dog with me in heaven.  According to this individual, animals do not have souls and thus will not be in heaven.  There was much crying and gnashing of teeth when she announced this.

After all, we were only seven at the time.

In the intervening time since then I have heard many other instructors, both lay and clergy, indicate that this is the case.  Never mind the cruelty of announcing to a room full of elementary school kids that their Spots and Fluffys will not be romping with them in heaven, I just don’t understand the thinking behind this belief.

I don’t recall a time that God, Jesus, Allah, Buddha, or even the seven headed goat-god of the planet Heretian VI (don’t bother Googling that, it’s nonsense not a vague reference) ever coming out in the con column as far as the animals in heaven issue goes.  This is simple human interpretation of a book written by men and then translated over and over again by men.  And, while your chosen deity may be infallible, men certainly are not.  If they were, we would never have been subjected to New Coke, reality TV, or Perez Hilton.

As I have stated before, I don’t care what your faith is.  I certainly am not in any position to declare anyone wrong on that level.  But, what I do know is that no higher power would allow us to forge such tight bonds with animals just to deny them entry to the same eternal reward we ourselves are offered.  Animals often reflect the best of ourselves, they give us a perfection of emotion that we wish we could achieve.  If animals are denied access to heaven, I, for one, do not want to go there.  And anyone who claims they do not have souls has never looked into the eyes of any animal.

So, to those who are continuing to preach that animals have no place in heaven I have this to say.  You head on up to your animal-free heaven,  me and the zoo crew will stare and laugh while you hang with Perez Hilton.

One Comment

  1. One of the things that I remember from the CCD teachings I had, is that God love all equally. I was also taught that God created everything, plants, animals and the like. If this is the case why would he not want His creations back with Him when they pass from mortal existence. This is the retort I gave when one of my CCD educators said that pets do not go to heaven. His response was, I never thought about it like that. I tend to believe in the Don Bluth film, “All Dogs go to Heaven”


Leave a Reply

