Skip navigation

Well, Oscar night has come and gone.  The stars have walked up and down the red carpet and people have praised or berated them for their high fashion.  All the little golden statues have been handed out and people are, even now, sleeping off the effects of the after parties.

Now, it may surprise many of my readers to learn I did not watch the festivities last evening.  Despite my enduring love for the cinema I find award shows to be tediously boring and much prefer to keep up with the goings on on-line while doing something more interesting.  From reports I hear, I didn’t miss much.  The people I talk to were not terribly impressed with the Martin/Baldwin double team at host. 

This year the Academy gave a show with very few real surprises.  Given the nominees that were selected, and I gave my opinion on that several weeks ago, I think they got the bulk of the awards right.  Not that my opinions carry any real weight in Hollywood.  However, there is one award in particular I would like to highlight: Best Director.

This category is one that I feel the Academy has played politics with the most over the years.  The long denial of the honor to directors like Steven Spielberg and Martin Scorsese is still a bit of a travesty in my mind.  But, the Academy did manage to finally recognize something last night.  Women can direct, too.

Kathryn Bigelow was the first woman awarded the directing Oscar, an honor she justly deserved, in my opinion.  But one has to wonder how it took 82 years to get to the point where it happened.  Granted, Hollywood is as male-dominated as many other professions continue to be.  However, there have been many great female directors over the years such as Penny Marshall, Jane Campion, and Mira Nair.  Thankfully, the recognition has finally been given.

Somewhat ironically, however, is the fact that it was Bigelow who broke the gender ceiling for the directing Oscar.  She is an extremely talented director, and I must admit I am a fan, but her films tends to be what would generally be considered “guy movies.”  However, I do urge everyone unfamiliar with her work to check out “The Hurt Locker” as well as some of her earlier work like “Strange Days,” “Near Dark,” or “K-19: The Widowmaker.”

As an additional note, does anyone but me think she had to be silently laughing at least a little bit that her movie kicked her ex-husband James Cameron’s ass last night?

Leave a Reply

