Skip navigation

I’ve been under the weather the last few days, and, so, this may end up being a bit rambling and come across a bit punchy.  Hopefully my head will be clearer tomorrow and I can catch up this week’s secondary posts on Victuals & Hootch, Mixed Media, and MovieDruid Reviews.

In the meantime…..

My wife and I often end our day by throwing a disc in the DVD player and, depending on the time and mood, watching a movie or some TV on DVD.  Usually we watch one of the TV shows we have taken up on DVD, but last night, due mainly to the fact that w were both sick, we got to bed early enough to do a movie instead.  As we began to watch Arnold Schwarzenegger and Robert Patrick do battle for the life of Edward Furlong a scene came up that prompted an observation from my wife that she has made many, many times.

Why do they always have to hurt the dog?

It’s a valid question.  It isn’t like “Terminator 2” is the only film where there has been a scene of absolutely unnecessary animal cruelty.  They happen far too often. 

I know I have a soft spot for animals in general, and canines in particular.  My thoughts on the topic are well recorded here at the Jungle Gym.  But, I don’t think that I am out of line on this. 

I know it’s a movie.  I know I should be suspending disbelief.  But, this feels different.  When someone goes psycho in a movie and murders every human in sight, our minds process the horror of that almost automatically.  We are practically hard-wired to understand that killing another person is wrong.  But, society had turned animals into objects already and when we see an animal’s life snuffed out without even a casual thought on-screen it adds to the objectification of our fellow species.

In many ways, I am surprised that these scenes are even considered acceptable anymore.  We seem to have a supreme hypocrisy in our mindset of Michael Vick being bad but on-screen cruelty and murder of animals is acceptable.  I would argue that both are not only bad, but could even be considered sadistic acts of evil.  We, as a society, need to present a united and unequivocal front that states that murder and cruelty of anyone is unspeakable.

Regardless of species.

One Comment

  1. Another case even if this wasn’t real dog. Near the end of the video game Fable 2 they shot my dog. I was left wondering why the heck they had to do that. Granted he was saving me but why kill the dog?


Leave a Reply

