Skip navigation

Hello, everyone!

This is a very special day here a the MovieDruid.  I would like to send my love and admiration out to my beautiful wife on her birthday.  She is the most important part of my life, the rock that provides me a solid foundation.  Nothing I accomplish in this world would be possible without her by my side.

Happy Birthday, my love!

But, my wife, like many of you, is always interested to see what shenanigans I spout off with each week, and so here we go with this week’s releases.

“Hot Tub Time Machine”

Trailer

Synopsis: “Hot Tub Time Machine” follows a group of best friends who’ve become bored with their adult lives: Adam has been dumped by his girlfriend; Lou is a party guy who can’t find the party; Nick’s wife controls his every move; and video game-obsessed Jacob won’t leave his basement. After, a crazy night of drinking in a ski resort hot tub, the men wake up, heads’ pounding, in the year 1986. This is their chance to kick some past and change their futures – one will find a new love life, one will learn to stand up for himself with the ladies, one will find his mojo, and one will make sure he still exists!

MovieDruid’s Comments:  I would have loved to be out drinking with the guy who thought this one up the night the idea hit him.  I guarantee you it happened during or after a bender.  The concept here is so far out there that this movie will either be absolutely fantastic or so bad you can’t stand it.  There is no room for middle ground when you’ve combined “hot tub” with “time machine.”  I do have to applaud them for at least one thing, though.  They cast an ’80’s movie icon in a film about going back in time to the ’80’s when they cast John Cusack (“Say Anything,” “Better Off Dead,” & “One Crazy Summer).

“How To Train Your Dragon” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: Set in the mythical world of burly Vikings and wild dragons, and based on the book by Cressida Cowell, this action comedy tells the story of Hiccup, a Viking teenager who doesn’t exactly fit in with his tribe’s longstanding tradition of heroic dragon slayers. Hiccup’s world is turned upside down when he encounters a dragon that challenges him and his fellow Vikings to see the world from an entirely different point of view.

MovieDruid’s Comments:  I first saw the trailer for this one, in 3D, when I attended “A Christmas Carol” last holiday season.  I was truly impressed with the animation, and with the fact that someone seemed to be making quality family entertainment again.  Disney has long ago fallen by the wayside.  The only things they release of value these days have the Pixar logo on them.  Dreamworks seems to have moved in to try to fill that void.  And, while they have become somewhat Shrek crazy the last few years, they do put out some breathtaking features in both traditional and CGI formats.  This one looks like it is going to be a worthy addition to that library.  The film is being released in traditional, 3D, and IMAX 3D formats.  I would certainly recommend the 3D format, but I’m not sure this one quite rises to the level of an IMAX purchase.  Overall, however, this looks like a truly delightful film from every angle.

One Comment

  1. “Hot Tub Time Machine” is the kind of concept that makes me turn to Amy and say “Honey if they are buying that concept surely I could get a movie script produced”. It could be hysterical but the concept is so off the tracks I’m afraid it will be humor of the lowest common denomenator.


Leave a Reply

