Skip navigation

I was out at a restaurant the other night with my wonderful wife.  The place was one where we had dined many times before and had always been pleased with the food.  Unfortunately, that evening it was not necessarily the case as one of our entrees came out severely overcooked. 

Nothing all that exciting, right?  I mean, restaurants make mistakes every day, big deal.  And, really, it wasn’t a big deal.

What got me thinking about it, though, was the fact that our first reaction was to simply sigh and deal with the problem.  But, I came to my senses and we ended up sending it back and getting a properly cooked entrée that didn’t taste like charcoal.

The reason this struck me is that the political correctness of society has become so infectious that we have gotten to a point where we often won’t speak up on our own behalf for fear of hurting someone else’s feelings.  It has become a major social faux pas, in many cases, to register a complaint about the products, services, and such that we pay our hard-earned dollars for.

But, this type of attitude doesn’t really serve anyone’s best interests, does it?  If we had simply dealt with the burnt meal what would have been the result?

In the end we would have been wholly unsatisfied with our experience at the restaurant.  This would have colored any future decision on where to dine, casting this particular place in a negative light.  The waitress who was serving us may have suffered from a lesser tip because of overall experience was negative*, despite the pretty good service she provided.  The manager and owner of the restaurant would suffer from the loss of repeat business and potential negative word of mouth that resulted.

Everyone loses, because we didn’t want to hurt someone’s feelings.

Now this is an extreme examination, but I think you get my point.  We need to find a way to push past the programmed political correctness and begin speaking up for ourselves.  More and more often, especially with the economy in the state it is in, we find ourselves in situations where service or products presented to us are substandard.  We need to begin feeling comfortable saying that something is unacceptable, and if we are going to expected to pay for something it needs to be right.

I have been a strong opponent of the political correctness movement for a long time.  We as a people need to unserstand that life is not all wine and roses, and protecting ourselves from the harsh realties of the world at large by making sure no one’s feelings get hurt is not a sustainable way of running a society.

So, get out there.  Speak your mind.  Defend your right to expect a certain level of quality for the price you are paying for the goods and services you consume.  Being polite doesn’t mean you have to be politically correct.

(* As a side note, before I get flamed, my wife and I would never actually short waitstaff.  My wife waited tables, and I have been throughly educated on the economics of being a waitress/waiter.  We don’t want anyone losing money because they had to wait on us.)

2 Comments

  1. I will tell you as a waiter you should say something. Often times I’ve gone to a table where clear the guest is not happy and asked if anything is wrong and they say no in a withering voice. It really bothers me because I want to make it a pleasant exprience for them (for selfish reasons I like a good tip) and if they would just say something I would do everything in my power to fix it.

  2. I have had every job in the restaurant business with the exception of owing one. I will state that it is everyone involved, the customer, the waitperson, etc to speak up and make sure all is good. As for “PC”ness, I have been asked to leave positions because I am not, nor will I ever be, less than candid with my feelings and beliefs. Political correctness will be the downfall of society.


Leave a Reply

