Skip navigation

Hello, again, everyone. 

I’d like to take this moment to wish everyone a Happy Easter!  The spring movie season is turning out to be a bit more interesting than is normal.  And this week bring yet another of the big films that I would normally expect to see held for summer release.  However, Hollywood seems to be tossing the normal timetable out the window more and more often lately, so I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised.

So, let’s take a peek and see what lies in store this week.

“The Last Song”

Trailer

Synopsis: Based on best-selling novelist Nicholas Sparks’ forthcoming novel, “The Last Song” is set in a small Southern beach town where an estranged father gets a chance to spend the summer with his reluctant teenaged daughter, who’d rather be home in New York. He tries to reconnect with her through the only thing they have in common — music — in a story of family, friendship, secrets and salvation, along with first loves and second chances.

MovieDruid’s Comments: Nicholas Sparks has an uneven track record in my mind.  His work often is a bit to saccharine for my taste.  And, in this case things could very easily go in that direction.  And, to be quite honest, the cast and crew don’t do much to assuage my fears.  Director Julie Ann Robinson has no prior big screen experience and is working with a star who could well be a flash-in-the-pan child star in Miley “Hannah Montana” Cyrus.  But, hope springs eternal.  In this case “hope” is embodied in Greg Kinnear (“As Good As It Gets” & “We Were Soldiers”) who is an actor who can quietly raise the game of everyone around him.  As a side note for those interested in this one, it actually released yesterday and, thus, should be in your cineplex as we speak.

Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married Too

Trailer

Synopsis: Gathered together in the Bahamas for their annual one-week reunion, four close couples eagerly reconnect, sharing news about their lives and relationships. But, their intimate week in paradise is disrupted by the unexpected arrival of Sheila’s ex-husband, Mike, who hopes to break up her new marriage with Troy and win her back. The others soon realize they too are not immune to the challenges of commitment and fidelity. With their relationships hanging in the balance when they return home, each couple must choose between blame and forgiveness, doubt and faith, with life-altering consequences.

MovieDruid’s Comments: Tyler Perry’s work is not normally my cup of tea.  However, there is something about this one that piques my interest more than his past work has.  The reason, I think, is this one feels more mature and more finely crafted.  He does seem to have talent as a director, and maybe he has finally made a film that could entice me to take it in.  I am still hesitant about this one, but it does intrigue me in a way any of his Medea film ever have.

“Clash of the Titans” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: The ultimate struggle for power pits men against kings and kings against gods. But, the war between the gods themselves could destroy the world. Born of a god but raised as a man, Perseus is helpless to save his family from Hades, vengeful god of the underworld. With nothing left to lose, Perseus volunteers to lead a dangerous mission to defeat Hades before he can seize power from Zeus and unleash hell on earth. Leading a daring band of warriors, Perseus sets off on a perilous journey deep into forbidden worlds. Battling unholy demons and fearsome beasts, he will only survive if he can accept his power as a god, defy his fate and create his own destiny.

MovieDruid’s Comments: I have to be honest, I am hesitant to make this one Pick of the Week for several reasons.  First, despite the fact that it didn’t necessarily age well, the original “Clash of the Titans” is a legendary film by a legend, Ray Harryhausen.  Second, reports are that the film went back for several weeks of reshoots after the original screened very poorly.  And, finally, despite my newfound favor for 3D in the cinema, I don’t know that this is a film I would use the technology with.  I can’t point to a reason for that, and I’m sure there are a vast number who would disagree, but something about “Clash of the Titans” in 3D feels wrong to me.  I am somewhat reassured by having the director of “The Incredible Hulk,” Louis Leterrier at the helm and actors like Sam Worthington (“Terminator Salvation” & “Avatar”), Liam Neeson (“Michael Collins” & “Before & After”), and Ralph Fiennes (“Strange Days” & “Schindler’s List”) involved.  I have high hopes for this one, but low expectations.  And, I admit, I approach it with a certain level of trepidation.

Leave a Reply

