Skip navigation

My wife and I broke out an old favorite this weekend: “The Breakfast Club.”  It was fun to go back and watch the old Brat Packers in one of the many films John Hughes gifted my generation with.  It was actually kind of amazing how well the film aged and how young Emilio Estevez, Molly Ringwald, Judd Nelson, Anthony Michael Hall, and Ally Sheedy looked.

After the film my wife asked which character I most related to.  Without hesitation I pointed to Ally Sheedy’s Allison.  She seemed surprised, but I stick by my claim.

I’ve never been a social butterfly, to put it mildly.  My friendships have, for the most part, been small in number.  But, I think the thing that I relate to the most is her quiet, especially at the beginning of the film.

Anyone who knows me in real life will tell you I am not really a talker.  I never have been.  And, that quiet disturbs people.  People get uncomfortable in silence.  The quiet makes them nervous, and many have t fill it with endless babble in order to stave off that nervousness.

I am perfectly comfortable in those silences.  In fact, I often prefer them.  This fact makes me one of the “odd” people in the minds of many.  I am seen as one of the fringe elements of society.

But, to quote Christian Slater from “Pump Up The Volume:

I woke up one day and realized I wasn’t ever going to be normal.  So I said &*@& it.  I said so be it.

The people I choose to spend my time with are a motley lot.  The are a collection of strange and broken personalities that see normality through much the same lens I do.  They are a beautiful bunch, and much more well-adjusted and stable than those who judge them without ever knowing them.  I would go to the ends of the earth to help any of them, and I truly believe they would do the same.  We are a community of oddballs.

Hell, normal people are boring anyway.

One Comment

  1. Looking at that movie, I would defiantly agree with identifying you with the character of Allison. You are quiet and reserved. When you choose to speak it can be profound. I am not sure whom I identify most with. I think I have a lot of all those characters in me.

    Yes, normal people are boring.


Leave a Reply

