Skip navigation

Hello, everyone.

Here we are, nearing the close of yet another week.  My head hasn’t exactly been on straight this week.  I apologize for the lack of ancillary content here at the Jungle Gym this week.

I blame Disney.

OK, hear me out.  Disney owns ABC.  ABC airs the only TV show I am even close to religious about, “Lost.”  “Lost” is in a final season where questions are finally being answered.  This week….RERUN.  I got so dicombobulated by the lack of new “Lost” that I forgot about my Jungle Gym responsibilities.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

In the meantime, let’s take a look at this week’s releases.

“Furry Vengeance”

Trailer

Synopsis: A real estate developer moves his family from Chicago to Oregon when his job calls for him to oversee the building of a major housing development. But, when his latest project threatens the homes of the local forest creatures, the animals seek revenge by turning a peaceful cul-de-sac under construction into a battlefield of epic proportions. It’s man versus nature and the fur is gonna fly!

MovieDruid’s Comments:  When I first heard the title of this film I had a frightening image of people in animal costumes rioting in some city in a scene that just went downhill from there.  Thus, my first reaction to seeing the actual marketing campaign for this one was relief.  That didn’t last long.  Relief quickly gave way to confusion.  Who, in the name of all that’s holy, is giving Brendan Fraser career advice?  How does a performer capable of performances as nuanced as “School Ties” & “The Quiet American” continue to make schlock like “Dudley Do-Right” and this?  His project choices have been improving the last few years, but someone really needs to get this guy some decent advisors.

“A Nightmare On Elm Street” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: A group of suburban teenagers share one common bond: they are all being stalked by Freddy Krueger, a horribly disfigured killer who hunts them in their dreams. As long as they stay awake, they can protect one another, but when they sleep, there is no escape.

MovieDruid’s Comments: I have come out strongly against remakes of the “Halloween” and “Friday the 13th” franchises at one time or another.  I voiced strong opinions that these films did not need to be remade, they stood the test of time.  Well, the third leg of the ’80’s horror triumvirate didn’t fare quite as well.  My wife and I got the “Nightmare on Elm Street” collection for Christmas a few years back, and, while the early ones are still entertaining, they did not age well at all.  The main problem here was finding your villain.  Jason and Michael Meyers are both silent engines of destruction.  Freddy Krueger is a villain that taunts and teases, constantly jabbering to keep his prey off-balance.  And Robert Englund created a classic when he was the original Freddy.  I would denounce this film entirely if it wasn’t for the fact that they found someone who, I think, can handle walking in those shoes. Jackie Earle Haley.  The former “Bad News Bears” star has turned into an actor that can handle the creepy parts quite well.  Don’t believe me check out his turn as Rorshach in “Watchmen” or his short, but haunting, turn as George Noyce in “Shutter Island.”  This is a man who can give us a Freddy for a new generation and make him stalk our dreams once again.  I, for one, can’t wait.

2 Comments

  1. I’m tentative about Nightmare on Elm Street. Although not as blasphemous as remaking Psycho (why they did that was beyond me) I think you play with fire when you redo an iconic film

    • I couldn’t agree more on “PSycho.” Remaking that film is a spot on the honor of humanity. It could go either way, but Jackie Earle Haley is the first actor I have seen come along that seems up to the task of stepping into Robert Englund’s shoes.


Leave a Reply

