Skip navigation

Hello again everyone.

Well, it looks like one of the biggest movies of the season arrives this week.  And with that arrival, I think we can christen summer movie season for 2010.  It may not yet be memorial Day, but the studios haven’t waited for that weekend for several years. 

So, let’s check things out and see what is happening….

“Babies”

Trailer

Synopsis: Re-defining the nonfiction art form, Babies joyfully captures on film the earliest stages of the journey of humanity that are at once unique and universal to us all. The film simultaneously follows four babies around the world — from birth to first steps. The children are, in order of on-screen introduction: Ponijao, who lives with her family near Opuwo, Namibia; Bayarjargal, who resides with his family in Mongolia, near Bayanchandmani; Mari, who lives with her family in Tokyo, Japan; and Hattie, who resides with her in San Francisco, Calif.

MovieDruid’s Comments: Ever since the success of “March of the Penguins” Hollywood has been looking for a way to do it again.  Disney has tried by re-editing and releasing small pieces of the BBC documentaries “Blue Planet” and “Planet Earth.”  That was a bit of a non-starter.  Now Focus Features is trying a different approach to replicating the success Warner Independent had with “Penguins.”  I guess I can see how this would appeal to some people, maybe even spark a little fascination.  But, I find no interest at all.  Now, let me explain one thing in the interest of full disclosure.  I am not a parent.  I will never be a parent.  I have never wanted to be a parent.  It is not in my blood.  Thus, I would guess I am probably outside the target demographic here.  The film looks well made, and seems to follow the more modern documentary style that makes for more entertaining films.  If this seems like your cup of tea I wouldn’t dissuade you from attending, just don’t expect to see me there.

“Iron Man 2” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: In “Iron Man 2,” the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored Super Hero Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because he fears the information will slip into the wrong hands. With Pepper Potts and James “Rhodey” Rhodes at his side, Tony forges new alliances and confronts powerful new forces.

MovieDruid’s Comments: It is no secret that I loved the original Iron Man.  It is no secret that I am a comic book geek and that the Avengers (of which Iron Man is a founding member) are among my favorites.  It is no secret that Robert Downey, Jr. (“Chaplin” & “Natural Born Killers”) is an actor that is enough to get me to the theater by himself.  There is nothing about this movie that turns me off.  Now, the purists out there will have a problem with the Whiplash character.  But, in translation to film certain liberties must be taken, as long as we don’t get a train wreck of alterations like “X3: The Last Stand” I think we’ll be OK.  On another not, this one is also being released in an IMAX format.  I plan on making this one of my three allowed IMAX indulgences for the year.  (For those keeping score, “Avatar” was my first in January and I will most likely be making “TRON Legacy” my final one in December.)

Leave a Reply

