Skip navigation

Yesterday was a bad one.  I had a rough day at work, but those happen, right?  But, when I emerged from the office, ready to head home and relax for the evening I find out I have a flat.

Beautiful.

By the time I get the flat resolved it is almost 6:00.  I am sitting with a doughnut on my car and it is getting late.  So, I call Sears which is right up the street.  Yes, we do tire repair, but we close at 7:00 and have a 2 1/2 hour wait right now.  Sigh.  Call Jack Williams, right across the street from Sears.  Yes, we do tire repair, close at 6:00.  Double sigh.  Think, Matt, think.  Where can you go that will be open later?  Well, Wal-Mart probably will be right?  It’s a bit farther than I’d like, but it will work.  Yes, they do tire repair.  Open until 8:00.

Score!

So, I climb in and start driving.  I stick to surface streets since the idea of a doughnut and highway speeds seems like a bad idea.  Between the phone calls and the travel time I roll into Wal-Mart at 7:02.  I climb out and start separating my car key to hand to the tech.

“Can I help you?”

I explain the situation.

“Sorry, we don’t have time to get to anyone else tonight.”

I see red.

I pull over into a parking spot and beat the dashboard for a few seconds.  I’ve already driven farther on this doughnut than I really wanted to, so I’m not going anywhere.  I call my wife and ask her to come pick me up.  Then I sit there and wait, doing a slow boil while I do so.

Why am I so upset?  I was told when I called they were open until 8:00.  I based my plan on the situation on an 8:00 cut-off time.  I arrived just short of an hour prior to that cut-off time.  And I was refused service. 

To my way of thinking, they were not in fact open until 8:00 despite what they said to me on the phone.

This sort of thing really irks me.  If you are going to post and quote hours, stick to them.  If you are going to stop taking additional customers at a certain time, make that time part of your hours.  If they had said to me, we’re open until 8:00, but we take the last vehicle in at 7:00 I would have had nothing to be upset about when I rolled in at 7:02 and was refused service.  I missed the cut-off.  That’s on me.

But, I was told they were open until 8:00.  I understand they want to go home after a long day.  I understand that 8:00 is when they are supposed to be able to walk out that door.  But, when you tell me that you close at 8:00 am I really unreasonable in my expectation of being serviced when I arrive at 7:02?

It may seem like no big deal.  I know I am probably overreacting.  But, all I ask is a little accuracy in what I am told when I ask for your hours.  I am not unreasonable.  If you tell me you close at 8:00, but then give me a caveat that the last service will be started at 7:00 I get that.

Leaving that caveat off just pisses me off when you turn me away an hour before you close.

Leave a Reply

