Skip navigation

I talk a lot on this blog about getting out there and experiencing life.  I have encouraged my readers time and again to throw off the shackles of a life lived in a rut and get out there to see what the community at large has to offer.  This is something I truly believe in and I try to practice what I preach where I can.

A few months ago, while making my usual cycle through various on-line news sources, I came across a review of an event that was being held in Charlotte.  The event was a touring show called “Cavalia” that the reviewer likened to “Cirque du Soleil with horses.”  My interest was immediately piqued.  I had become enamored with Cirque du Soleil many years ago when I first saw a special they had put together for HBO.  I was enraptured by the spectacle of the incredible feats of acrobatics, strength, or agility that these people demonstrated.

And then there was the concept of the horses being added to the mix.

My wife loves horses.  Any chance we get to attend events dedicated to, interacting with, or benefitting horses is immediately snapped up.  We have driven hours to Assateague Island to see the wild horses there.  We have sat enraptured by the horses in the various events during the annual Pennsylvania Farm Show.  We even had the opportunity, through a friend, to meet the Budweiser Clydesdales.

This event was an absolute slam dunk for us. 

I had tried to plan for us to attend the Charlotte shows since I have family in the area and we could visit them at the same time.  No such luck, it just never seemed to come together.  But, when they announced their next destination new hope kindled in my heart.  They were bound for New Jersey.  That was close enough to be very doable.

Thus, on Tuesday afternoon, we began the journey from our central Pennsylvania home to East Rutherford, New Jersey.  Road tripping is one of our favorite things to do, but driving in New Jersey, especially that close to New York City, can try even the calmest of tempers.  We were definitely road weary by the time we rolled onto the grounds of the Meadowlands Sports Complex, but the sight of that white tent soaring into the sky erased it all.

Yes, that’s right….tent.  Cavalia performs under what is touted as the largest touring big top in North America.  And the sight of those soaring spires of white canvas is truly breathtaking.

And the show itself was simply, indescribable.  A beautiful mingling of music, human agility, equine grace, and the friendship between the beautiful horses of the Cavalia stables and their human companions.  It was truly a sight that will remain ingrained in my imagination forever.  It is easy to see why wo many philosophers have spoken about the nobility of these beautiful animals.  The power that is incarnate in them is belied by their grace.  And mingled with them were woven demonstrations of human agility that, in its way, matched that of the horses.

I have rarely had the opportunity to witness such true synergy in the grace that comes from pure affection and respect between nature’s creations.  Cavalia reminded me of that, and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

