Skip navigation

Hello, everyone.

It looks like I got a little addled by my mid-week time off this week.  I sat down to write yesterday and was sure it was Wednesday.  I was, of course, wrong and the MovieDruid ends up a day late on his weekly arrival at the Jungle Gym. 

But, fear not, MovieDruid fans!  I have arrived, but late than never, and will give you a normal dose of insight.  (How large a dose that is, I leave for you to decide.)  And, I do know I am also late on the review.  To make it up to you, I will post a double feature review this week sometime today.

So, with all that being said, let’s take a look….

“Knight and Day”

Trailer

Synopsis: A wholesome, Midwestern woman accidentally gets involved with an international super spy and is forced to flee the country with him while he protects a dangerous new piece of technology.

MovieDruid’s Comments:  In recent years my reaction to any film starring Tom Cruise was mild derision.  The man seemed to have gone off the deep end in his personal life, and it was having a definite impact on his professional projects as well.  His performance in “Tropic Thunder” did manage to give us a peek at the talent that we knew from back in the day.  Thus, I approach a Cruise film that looks to be equal parts comedy and action with caution.  Are we going to get crazy, couch-jumping Cruise or talented, professional Cruise?  I have much less concern about Cameron Diaz.  She has proven to be able to handle pretty much anything thrown her way, and I have no doubt this will be no different.  The director, James Mangold (“Identity” & “3:10 To Yuma”), does give me some hope, but the premise combined with Cruise’s relative instability steals most of it away.  I think I’d wait for second run or even DVD.

“Grown Ups” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: “Grown Ups” is about five men who were best friends when they were young kids and now are getting together for the Fourth of July weekend to meet each others’ families for the first time. Picking up where they left off, they discover why growing older doesn’t mean growing up.

MovieDruid’s Comments: This is actually a comedy that looks like fun to me.  The main reason being that the four stars, Adam Sandler (“Billy Madison” & “The Waterboy”), Chris Rock (“New Jack City” & “Death at a Funeral”), Kevin James (“Hitch” & “Paul Blart: Mall Cop”), and Rob Schneider (“Big Daddy” & “50 First Dates”); are all men whose comedy I enjoy.  On top of that, director Dennis Dugan has worked with Sandler in particular several times to great results.  It looks like a solid summer comedy that should be a fun ride.

Leave a Reply

