Skip navigation

Hello, all.

I know that I have been somewhat lackadaisical in my updates in recent weeks.  I apologize my regular readers as well as anyone dropping by.  Things should begin becoming more normalized now and the secondary pages (Victuals & Hootch, Mixed Media, and MovieDruid Reviews) should start seeing regular updates again starting on Monday.

In the meantime, I am back to my MovieDruid ways on Thursdays, so let’s take a peek at this week’s crop…

“The Other Guys”

Trailer

Synopsis: NYPD Detectives Christopher Danson and P.K. are the baddest and most beloved cops in New York City. They don’t get tattoos – other men get tattoos of them. Two desks over and one back, sit Detectives Allen Gamble and Terry Hoitz. You’ve seen them in the background of photos of Danson and Highsmith, out of focus and eyes closed. They’re not heroes – they’re “the Other Guys. But every cop has his or her day and soon Gamble and Hoitz stumble into a seemingly innocuous case no other detective wants to touch that could turn into New York City’s biggest crime. It’s the opportunity of their lives, but do these guys have the right stuff?

MovieDruid’s Comments: It’s been well-documented that I am very much not a fan of Will Ferrell.  Thus, it should hardly be a surprise that a film that re-teams him with director Adam McKay (“Talladega Nights” & “Step Brothers”) makes me shake my head in mourning for the future of humanity.  I’m even more concerned that Mark Wahlberg, Samuel L. Jackson, Dwayne Johnson, and even Michael Keaton appear to have gotten themselves tangled up in this mess.  The best I can say is that if this is your sort of movie, have at it.  Personally, I plan to stay far away.

“Step Up 3D” – MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis:New York’s intense street dancing underground comes alive in eye-popping Digital 3D as a tight-knit group of street dancers team up with Moose and find themselves pitted against the world’s best hip-hop dancers in a high-stakes showdown that will change their lives forever.

MovieDruid’s Comments: Dancing films have been an occasional staple of Hollywood for decades.  There is, of course a reason for this.  When watching films like this we are often more than happy to overlook plot holes, bad writing, even poor acting and director for the sheer spectacle of that the human form is capable of.  We don’t go to these films for the same reasons we go to any other.  And this one looks like it has spectacle to spare.  My only concern here is really the 3D.  My regular readers may remember that I was skeptical about the return of 3D at first.  I had my mind changed, but it has slowly been changing back.  Since my original skepticism I have only seen two 3D films (“A Christmas Carol” & “Avatar”) that I feel truly used the technology in a way that enhanced the experience.  Other 3D films have felt gimmicky at best, distracting at worst.  These days, despite the fact that new 3D comes out almost weekly, I rarely partake of it, preferring the traditional 2D presentation in most cases.  Here is another film that 3D seems fairly unnecessary.  The beauty of the dance and the cinematography should speak for themselves.  Just because you can make a film 3D doesn’t mean you should, Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

