Skip navigation

I’m a member of Generation X.  And, while I truly dislike stereotypes, most of us Gen X’ers have a tendency toward a certain level of cynicism, especially when it comes to those in positions of authority and influence.  It’s not all that hard to understand when you realize that fairly early in our lives we saw the Iran-Contra hearings and the PTL scandal among others.  Quite simply, we have trouble seeing anyone worth looking up to in a world that, for us, was full of corruption and scandal.

Perhaps it was put best in the film “Pump Up The Volume” when Christian Slater uttered these words:

I don’t really find it exactly cheerful to be living in the middle of a totally, like, exhausted decade where there’s nothing to look forward to and no one to look up to.

It seems to me that the dawn of Generation X seems to have been the sunset of the age of true heroes in this world.  Now, that’s not to say that there are no heroes left.  Anyone who witnessed the tragedy nine years ago as firefighters, police officers, and medical personnel fought against the odds and personal safety to rescue people from those blazing towers knows they still exist.  The same is true for the now legendary landing on the Hudson by Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger.  But examples like these are few and far between.

I understand that I can’t expect to see a new story of heroism in the media every day.  But, I also don’t believe that we should need a tragedy or crisis to bring out heroes.  I don’t need the soldiers defending our freedom and firefighters rescuing children in the papers every day (though they definitely deserve the recognition).  It goes without saying that the sacrifice and bravery displayed by that sort of men and women is to be admired.

My problem is the lack of character and admirabilty in the people of power and influence today.  We have become a society of reality TV and 24 hour news cycles that seem to scream out the foibles and failings of our leaders.  Those who seem to get the most face time in front of us daily seem to be the least deserving of it.

Our daily mediascape is no longer populated by those we admire and wish to emulate, but by those who most personify the latest trends in titillation and ratings.

Now, I know I sound like a broken record.  I have lamented before on these topics.  But, as I look around me I am more and more grateful that I am not a parent.  I would not want to have to undo the twisted morality that so much of media is foisting upon us today.  I wouldn’t want to have to try to find a figure to point to for my child to admire as one with great accomplishment and great character.

In 1985 Tina Turner stood in Thunderdome and told us “We Don’t Need Another Hero.”

I respectfully disagree.

admir






admirability

Leave a Reply

