Skip navigation

Things have been more than a little crazy lately.  The holidays will do that to you, I suppose.

Between trips to Atlantic City (a gift to my mother-in-law) and Charlotte it felt like I spent almost as much time away from home as I did at home.  But, on the plus side my family was together for Christmas for the first time in a very long time, I got to spend a little time with some friends, and I survived the holidays without collapsing or committing a homicide.

Unfortunately, that meant I had little to no time to write.

I love my blog.  It gives me an outlet for some of my odder, darker, and deeper tendencies.  It allows me to share a side of myself with friends and family that my normally introverted self would never reveal under normal circumstances.  However, it tends to be quickly given a back seat when everything goes nuts.

So, to all who come here loyally, thanks for sticking with my incredibly unpredictable lapses.

That being said, the holidays being over means we are now in another year.  2011.  I don’t know why, but that number just looks strange to me.  Like it was a number that was never truly intended.  Then again, my brain works in very strange ways compared to polite society.

The thing about stepping over that threshold into a new year is that it sometimes makes one a bit reflective over the past year.  You look back at what happened in your life and begin to wonder if you took a step forward or two steps back.  Unfortunately, for many of us, it feels like we shifted into reverse last year.

I know last year was a rough one for me, but not all was bad.  I guess you could call 2010 bittersweet.  There was much turmoil and tribulation in my life, but there were shining moments and I always had good friends and a dedicated soulmate to get me through.

If I take anything from the year that was it is that I am far more blessed than I deserve when it comes to my support system.  2010 taught me to be grateful for everyone in my life in ways I had never experienced before.

So, in the immortal words of Patsy Cline:

Here’s to those who wish us well and those who don’t can go to hell.

Happy New Year, everybody!

Leave a Reply

