Skip navigation

Happy Pi Day everyone!  Or should that be Π Day?

Yes, we geeks need to have holidays that everyone else can roll their eyes at.  But, come on. Pi Day can be fun.

For those who have forgotten their early math classes Pi is defined as the circumference of a circle divided by its diameter.  For any true circle this number is a mathematical constant that is an eternal, non-repeating decimal with the first three digits being 3.14.

Thus, 3/14 is Pi Day.

Now, I know most of you are rolling your eyes at me for explaining basic mathematics, and others are rolling their eyes because they think I’ve crossed the threshold from my cherished Geek state and entered firmly into much-maligned Nerd territory.

I disagree.

Things like Pi Day can be very important tools for getting kids interested in math, science, and other academic disciplines.  Our educational system is on the ropes in many ways.  Children are not achieving the academic excellence that they once did in this country.  We can argue the causation of this situation from now until we are all blue in the face, but the truth of the matter is that things are what they are.  And, personally, I think that something as simple as a day where we tout the wonders of the natural and mathematical world can do nothing but make things seem a but more interesting to students.

And, I think that we, as a nation, should take a few moments this Pi Day to understand the importance of education on all levels to the future of this nation and this world.  We need to strive to instill a lifelong love of learning in the youth of today.  We should work to continue to learn every day of our lives, no matter how old we are. We need to experience new experiences, see the world through different eyes, and expand our knowledge in every way we can.

I for one am going to take this Pi Day to thank all the teachers who shaped my life, my parents who instilled a lifelong love of learning in me, my wife who enthusiastically joins me in adventures of new experience, and my siblings who continue to awe and inspire me with their gifts.

Learn something new today, start a new trend.

Leave a Reply

