Skip navigation

Hello, all.

It has been some time since I wrote a weekly MovieDruid post.  For those who were, and hopefully will be again, my loyal readers I certainly apologize for my absence.  Life is a funny thing, and it will often throw you curveballs that require some adjustments.  I think I have gotten my adjustments in place enough that my posting should become a bit more regularly.

But, such things are not why we are here today.  Today we are here to once again address one of my favorite questions: “What movies were released this week?”

That, my friends, I shall answer forthwith…..

“Friends With Benefits”

Friends With BenefitsTrailer

Synopsis: Dylan and Jamie think it’s going to be easy to add the simple act of sex to their friendship, despite what Hollywood romantic comedies would have them believe. They soon discover, however, that getting physical really does always lead to complications.

MovieDruid’s Comments: I don’t understand exactly how many times Hollywood thinks it can make this movie and continue to make money.  It’s like a game for them.  Make a few alterations to the script.  Throw in a few new stars.  Bam, more money, same old story.  I know that Hollywood seems stuck in a holding pattern of uninspired material and remakes recently, but come on was it that long since “No Strings Attached.” (As an interesting side note, when I searched IMDb for “Friends With Benefits” the aforementioned “No Strings Attached” was the first result not this film.)  This one does have Mila Kunis (“The Book of Eli” & “Max Payne”), Justin Timberlake (“The Social Network” & the hilarious Liqourville sketch from SNL), and Woody Harrelson (“White Men Can’t Jump” & “A Scanner Darkly”), but even that is most likely not enough to raise this to this beyond its uninspired roots.

“Captain America: The First Avenger”: MovieDruid Pick of the Week

Trailer

Synopsis: “Captain America: The First Avenger” will focus on the early days of the Marvel Universe when Steve Rogers volunteers to participate in an experimental program that turns him into the Super Soldier known as Captain America. As Captain America, Rogers joins forces with Bucky Barnes and Peggy Carter to wage war on the evil HYDRA organization, led by the villainous Red Skull.

MovieDruid’s Comments: It’s no secret that I am a comic book geek.  In my youth, Marvel was my publisher, and, unlike my friends who were X-Men guys, I was all about the Avengers.  Thus, the release of films like “Iron Man” and “Thor” have had me giddy, but the ultimate Avenger had not been given a proper big screen treatment.  That ends now, Cap is finally here.  Marvel has finally managed to get its ball rolling good and we’re seeing its properties really explode onto the screen.  This film is an important one for fans.  Cap is a cornerstone, and this film is one of the final pieces to be put in place before they tackle the Avengers as a team next summer.  And, I am generally happy with the pedigree here.  The directorial reins were given to Joe Johnston (“Hidalgo” & “October Sky”) who has a pretty solid eye.  And, of course, the cast looks pretty good overall with Hugo Weaving “V for Vendetta” & “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy) as our villain and Tommy Lee Jones (“The Fugitive” & “Double Jeopardy”) and others in good supporting roles.  My one complaint in the casting is Chris Evans (“The Fantastic Four” & “The Losers”) in the title role.  The complaint is hardly his talent, he is a solid performer.  My question is: Why cast an actor who is already established in a Marvel role as another character?  Granted the chances of FF/Avengers crossovers are remote, but now they are difficult, if not impossible.  Maye that’s just the fanboy in me talking.

Leave a Reply

